Michelle Picon has been appointed Chairman of the Heart of the Community Foundation Board of Governors for 2017-2018.

The “Heart of the Community Awards” recognition program is sponsored by Redmond Regional Medical Center and the Heart of the Community Foundation, Inc. to honor local citizens for their volunteer service to our community.  Recipients of the awards are honored at a black tie gala, “Loving Hearts, Helping Hands,” The 32nd annual event will be held on Saturday, February 17, 2018 at the Forum.

Proceeds from the event will be designated for heart education and safety programs in the Rome and Floyd County community.  Previously funded projects have included the Heart House for families of critically ill patients on the Redmond campus, AED units in public facilities in Rome, a fitness course at Ridge Ferry Park, fitness equipment at the Thornton Center, swimming scholarships at the YMCA, exercise equipment for Summit Quest, and grants to various humanitarian and heart related agencies in Rome and Floyd County.

Michelle is a graduate of Princeton University were she majored in English.  She has a background in financial journalism and has taught or tutored Spanish at Darlington for the past 10 years.

She is a member of Saint Mary’s Catholic Church where she serves on the Finance Committee and on the Mission and Vison Committee.

Michelle is a founding board member of the Historic Desoto Theatre Foundation, where he has served as Vice-President and is involved in the construction fundraising and grant writing committees.   She has previously served as president of Saint Mary’s School PTO, Chair of the St. Mary’s auction and in various capacities at the Darlington Upper School Tiger PRIDE and the East Central Elementary PTO.

Picon and her husband, Harbin Clinic Cardiologist, Dr. Hector Picon, are natives of San Juan, Puerto Rico and have lived in Rome for over 25 years.  They have four adult children, Michelle Marie, Monique. Melissa, and Hector Miguel.


Additional Heart of the Community Foundation Board members who assist in the event and the mission of the Foundation include: Harry Brock, Angie Beard, Brenda Bowen, David Byearley, Kristy Brown, Steve Graves, Nancy Hunter, Judy Ingram, Dawn Irmscher, Chris Jackson, Kristi Kent, Mai Mai Kelly ,Monisha Patel, Elaine Price, Mimi Richards, Lauren Sklar, David Smith, and Esther Vaughn. Wilson.